“1917” And Joaquin Phoenix Were Big Winners At Last Night’s BAFTAs

February 3, 2020 / Posted by:

2020 was a big year for 1917 which won four BAFTAs last night. That’s what was going on in ENGLAND while most Americans were busy watching JLo get the most out of that Groupon she used for 8 free pole dancing classes to prepare for Hustlers. She was never going to their little awards show anyway! But the lack of Hustlers nominations just meant more for 1917 which won Best Film, Outstanding British Film, Best Cinematography, and Best Director for Sam Mendes. It also picked up wins for special visual effects, sound, and production design. Parasite won for Best Film Not In The English Language and Best Original Screenplay by Han Jin-won and Bong Joon-ho. Another big winner was Joaquin Phoenix who won Most Tweeted About Acceptance Speech for Leading Actor For Joker, and Hardest Working Suit.

According to The BBC, the acting categories were pretty much a repeat of the Golden Globes, the SAG Awards and the Critics Choice Awards with Lead Actress going to Renée Zellweger for Judy, Laura Dern for Supporting Actress for Marriage Story, and Brad Pitt for Supporting Actor for Once Upon A Time In Hollywood. BBC says “It is the first time since 1977 that all four of the Bafta awards for acting have been won by Americans.” And of course, all of the winning actors were white because all of the nominated actors were white, something Joaquin addressed in his acceptance speech. Previous to the BAFTAs, Joaquin used his frequent trips to the podium to talk about environmental issues (GG), his acting heroes (SAG), and gun violence and mental health (CC). Last night he focused on systemic racism in the film industry. Who knows what he’ll talk about by the time Oscars rolls around. Post-Kantian speculative realism perhaps?

It was a nice speech but honestly it wasn’t very funny. We’re supposed to believe this guy’s some sort of Joker? At any rate, here’s the full list of BAFTA winners (and losers).

Best film

  • WINNER: 1917
  • The Irishman
  • Joker
  • Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood
  • Parasite

Outstanding British film

  • WINNER: 1917
  • Bait
  • For Sama
  • Rocketman
  • Sorry We Missed You
  • The Two Popes

Leading actress

  • Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose
  • Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story
  • Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
  • Charlize Theron – Bombshell
  • WINNER: Renée Zellweger – Judy

Leading actor

  • Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood
  • Adam Driver – Marriage Story
  • Taron Egerton – Rocketman
  • WINNER: Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
  • Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes

Supporting actress

  • WINNER: Laura Dern – Marriage Story
  • Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit
  • Florence Pugh – Little Women
  • Margot Robbie – Bombshell
  • Margot Robbie – Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood

Supporting actor

  • Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
  • Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes
  • Al Pacino – The Irishman
  • Joe Pesci – The Irishman
  • WINNER: Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time In Hollywood


  • WINNER: Sam Mendes – 1917
  • Martin Scorsese – The Irishman
  • Todd Phillips – Joker
  • Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood
  • Bong Joon-Ho – Parasite

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

  • Awkwafina
  • Jack Lowden
  • Kaitlyn Dever
  • Kelvin Harrison Jr
  • WINNER: Micheal Ward

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

  • WINNER: Bait – Mark Jenkin, Kate Byers, Linn Waite
  • For Sama – Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts
  • Maiden – Alex Holmes
  • Only You – Harry Wootliff
  • Retablo – Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio

Film not in the English language

  • The Farewell
  • For Sama
  • Pain and Glory
  • WINNER: Parasite
  • Portrait of a Lady On Fire


  • American Factory
  • Apollo 11
  • Diego Maradona
  • WINNER: For Sama
  • The Great Hack

Animated film

  • Frozen 2
  • WINNER: Klaus
  • A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
  • Toy Story 4

Original screenplay

  • Booksmart – Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman
  • Knives Out – Rian Johnson
  • Marriage Story – Noah Baumbach
  • Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood – Quentin Tarantino
  • WINNER: Parasite – Han Jin Won, Bong Joon Ho

Adapted screenplay

  • The Irishman – Steven Zaillian
  • WINNER: Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi
  • Joker – Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
  • Little Women – Greta Gerwig
  • The Two Popes – Anthony McCarten

Original score

  • 1917 – Thomas Newman
  • Jojo Rabbit – Michael Giacchino
  • WINNER: Joker – Hildur Gudnadottir
  • Little Women – Alexandre Desplat
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – John Williams


  • WINNER: 1917 – Roger Deakins
  • The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
  • Joker – Lawrence Sher
  • Le Mans ’66 – Phedon Papamichael
  • The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke

Costume design

  • The Irishman – Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell
  • Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C Rubeo
  • Judy – Jany Temime
  • WINNER: Little Women – Jacqueline Durrant
  • Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Arianne Phillips


  • The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
  • Jojo Rabbit – Tom Eagles
  • Joker – Jeff Groth
  • WINNER: Le Mans ’66 – Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker
  • Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Fred Raskin

Production design

  • WINNER: 1917 – Lee Sandales
  • The Irishman – Bob Shaw, Regina Graves
  • Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková
  • Joker – Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran
  • Once upon a Time… In Hollywood – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh

Make-up and hair

  • 1917 – Naomi Donne
  • WINNER: Bombshell – Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan
  • Joker – Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann
  • Judy – Jeremy Woodhead
  • Rocketman – Lizzie Yianni Georgiou


  • WINNER: 1917 – Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson
  • Joker – Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic
  • Le Mans ’66 – David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester
  • Rocketman – Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

Best special visual effects

  • WINNER: 1917 – Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy
  • Avengers: Endgame – Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick
  • The Irishman – Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman
  • The Lion King – Andrew R Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy

Best casting

  • WINNER: Joker – Shayna Markowitz
  • Marriage Story – Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler
  • Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Victoria Thomas
  • The Personal History of David Copperfield – Sarah Crowe
  • The Two Popes – Nina Gold

British short film

  • Azaar
  • Goldfish
  • Kamali
  • WINNER: Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl)
  • The Trap

British short animation

  • WINNER: Grandad Was A Romantic
  • In Her Boots
  • The Magic Boat

Pic: Wenn.com

Our commenting rules: Don't be racist or bigoted, or get into long-ass fights, or go way off topic when not in an Open Post. Also, promoting adblockers is not allowed. And some comment threads will be pre-moderated, so it may take a second for your comment to show up if it's approved.

alt="drupal analytics" >